What is a LHIN?

In 2006, Ontario was divided into 14 health regions called LHINs.  Each of these Local Health Integration Networks work with community members, healthcare providers and hospitals to create a seamless provision of services to their population.

It is interesting to note that, though the City of Toronto is mainly within the Toronto Central LHIN 7, its western edge is within Mississauga Halton LHIN 6, and its eastern edge is within the Central East LHIN 9.  The Central LHIN 9 also includes significant parts of the GTA.

The large coloured homepage map is divided into the 14 Ontario LHINs.  The one below is from the Ministry of Health LHIN webpage...